Music and Writing (A Magical Duet)

black-and-white-charlie-love-music-Favim.com-2085942-2

Music goes with a lot of things.  Reading, chilling, movies, break-up aftermath, homework, etc.  Music can also pair with your writing to produce material of extraordinary proportion.  Well, I may be exaggerating a bit.  Maybe not.  Only you know.

Before I start a writing session I make sure that I have my writing playlist on.  For me, my music selections depends on what type of scene I’m writing.  It’s almost like putting music to the scene of a movie even though it’s only a movie in your head.  If I’m writing a heavy, emotional scene, I’ll probably choose music that is slow, sad (in a minor key), and probably instrumental.

Need some examples of sad sounding instrumentals? You’re in luck!

Song for Bob by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber

She Remembers by Max Richter

What I usually do is find a heavily emotional scene in a movie and I take that music.  Many epics use voice and/or wailing to symbolize pain and heartache such as Sorrow from Gladiator and So Many Trails, So Many Tears by Zack Hemsey.  Ultimately, the music that you choose depends on your personal preference of course. But I’m just throwing some things out there.

Another thing I like to do is create character soundtracks.  Some of my characters don’t listen to to music, which is fine, but I always use hypotheticals to make my life easier.  What if they did listen to music? What if they existed in modern day Earth instead of two hundred years into the future? What songs remind me of this particular character? For a character who is refined, very graceful, and takes themselves seriously I might use a certain piece of classical music.  A good way to practice this is take a movie you like and listen for the type of music that plays for a certain character.  The same could go for television shows if it’s a drama.

Try looking up the soundtracks for these movies/tv shows as well.  Most likely the main character(s) will have a theme.  Princess Leia has a theme.  Rey has a theme.  To continue on my Star Wars streak, Anakin has a theme.  Other characters who exist out of the Star Wars universe have themes too.  Like Ezio from Assassin’s Creed.  He has a theme.  And the hobbits from Lord of the Rings have a theme.  They may not be a single character, but from hearing this you know it’s about the hobbits.  Any of them.

That’s all I’ve got for you.  I could add in more examples for other scene categories, but I don’t have to do that here.  If you’re in a stump or want some inspiration, shoot me a message or leave a comment! I’ll be happy to help!

Happy Musicing!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Music and Writing (A Magical Duet)

Leave a Reply

