Camp NanoWriMo July 2015…is almost here.

It’s Tuesday, June 30th, 2015.  There is less than one day left before the beginning of the July session of Camp Nanowrimo begins.  There is a tingling in the deepest part of my chest that I know is mere excitement, but also convicting thoughts about what I actually wanted to write about.  Yes, I planned out my novel but I have received great ideas about another.  Should I stick with my original plan or go bold and seek out another adventure?

I think that I will be true to my original novel because I know that I have thought long and hard about my novel throughout the last month. Though I have started an entirely different novel before NaNoWriMo began once before, I immediately lost motivation after only a few chapters.  Because this is a summer activity in which I am placing a lot of time and motivation towards, I have decided that I will, for the sake of my sanity, to stick with my pre-planned novel.

Didn’t plan your novel? DON’T LET THAT STOP YOU.  I’m sure that you have dreamed of typing words into a word processor that will soon collaborate into a precious novel.  Let the beginning of that adventure start tomorrow! Set a small goal to get you inspired.   Too busy? DON’T LET THAT STOP YOU.  I’m participating in a leadership program, working, and taking classes this summer and yet I’ve decided to dwell in my dreams.  Make your dreams a reality.

To all my fellow campers, you will struggle with this time of dream awakening but your struggle will not be in vain.  You will learn what makes you tick, what ideas actually lie in your head, what you’re capable of handling.  You will learn what it’s like to type during a vacation period (for students at least), during a time of immense laziness and un-motivation.  For you dream awakeners, you will plow through the struggle and place your flag on your mountain of word glory.  And you will feel the breeze of satisfaction as you admire your filled word count gauge.

If you don’t get to your word count, don’t feel down.  It’s the beginning of an adventure, not the end of one.  I’m sure it would also benefit you to change your word count when you need to throughout this month.  Waddle in your dreams a little bit so that they may soar when you feel that the time is right.

Happy Camping!

 

Leave a Reply

